Canadian Maritime Commission.—This Commission was created in 1947 by the Canadian Maritime Commission Act (RSC 1952, c. 38). It considers and recommends policies and measures necessary for the operation, maintenance, manning and development of a merchant marine and a shipbuilding and ship-repairing industry. The Commission administers the Ship Construction Assistance Regulations established by Order in Council PC 1961–1290 passed Sept. 8, 1961 and the Canadian Vessel Construction Assistance Act (RSC 1952, c. 43). It also administers steamship subsidies voted by Parliament. Other functions include advice to other government departments on their shipbuilding requirements, consultation with the Department of National Revenue in the administration of the laws relating to the coasting trade of Canada and the co-ordination of the overseas movement of men and material for the Department of National Defence. It has responsibility in international matters relating to merchant shipping, such as NATO, IMCO and other international bodies. The Chairman has the status of a Deputy Minister and the Commission reports to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

Canadian National Railways.—The Canadian National Railway Company was incorporated (SC 1919, c. 13) to operate and manage a national system of railways, including the Canadian Northern Railway System, the Canadian Government Railways and all lines entrusted to it by Order in Council. In 1923 the Grand Trunk Railway Company of Canada was amalgamated with the Canadian National Railway Company and since 1923 a number of railway lines acquired by the Government have been entrusted to the Company for operation and management, including the Newfoundland Railway and steamship services in 1949, the Temiscouata Railway in 1950, and the Hudson Bay Railway and the Northwest Communication System in 1958. The Canadian National Railways Act, 1919 was repealed in 1955 and the Canadian National Railways Act (SC 1955, c. 29) substituted therefor.

The Canadian National Railway Company is controlled by a Chairman and Board of Directors appointed by the Governor in Council, who report to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

Canadian Overseas Telecommunication Corporation.—This Crown company was created on Dec. 10, 1949 by Act of Parliament (RSC 1952, c. 42) to acquire for public operation external telecommunication assets in Canada, in keeping with the Commonwealth Telegraph Agreement signed May 11, 1948. This Agreement was designed to bring about the consolidation and strengthening of the radio and cable communication systems of the Commonwealth. The Corporation is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

Canadian Patents and Development Limited.—Canadian Patents and Development Limited is a Crown corporation established in 1948, pursuant to authority granted in an amendment to the Research Council Act passed in 1946. The primary purpose of the Company, which is a subsidiary of the National Research Council, is to make available to industry, through licensing arrangements, commercial inventions originating in the NRC laboratories. The Company also handles inventions referred to it from the research establishments of Federal Government departments and agencies, Canadian universities, and provincial research councils. Any profits that the Company may derive from licensing arrangements are used for further research and development. The Company's Board of Directors is composed of representatives of the National Research Council, government departments and agencies, industry and the universities. The Company reports to Parliament through the Chairman of the Committee of the Privy Council on Scientific and Industrial Research (at present the Minister of Industry).

Canadian Wheat Board.—The Board was incorporated in 1935 under the Canadian Wheat Board Act to market, in an orderly manner, in the interprovincial and export trade, grain grown in Canada. Its powers include authority to buy, take delivery of, store, transfer, sell, ship or otherwise dispose of grain. Except as directed by the Governor in Council, the Board was not originally authorized to buy grain other than wheat but, since Aug. 1, 1949, it may also buy oats and barley if authorized to do so by Regulation approved by the Governor in Council. Only grain produced in the designated area, which includes Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and parts of British Columbia and Ontario, is purchased by the Board, which controls the delivery of grain into elevators and railway cars in that area as well as the interprovincial movement and export of wheat, oats and barley generally. The Board is governed by its own Act of incorporation (see footnote, p. 115). It reports to Parliament through the Minister of Trade and Commerce.

Centennial Commission.—The Centennial Commission is a Crown corporation established by Parliament (SC 1960-61, c. 60 as amended) and responsible for the co-ordination and administration of projects relating to the Centennial of Confederation in Canada. It consists of a Commissioner, an Associate Commissioner and not more than 12 directors, each of whom is appointed by the Governor in Council. The Commission is responsible to Parliament through the Secretary of State.

Central Mortgage and Housing Corporation.—This Corporation was incorporated by Act of Parliament (RSC 1952, c. 46) in December 1945 to administer the National Housing Acts. Under the National Housing Act, 1954 (SC 1953-54, c. 23, as amended), the Corporation insures mortgage loans made by approved lenders and makes direct loans for home-ownership and rental housing; guarantees home improvement loans made by banks; undertakes subsidized rental housing projects and land assembly developments under federal-provincial arrangements; offers loans and